

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE February 25, 2013 Contact: Ellen R. Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

BIOPHYSICAL SOCIETY ANNOUNCES 2013 STUDENT RESEARCH ACHIEVEMENT AWARD WINNERS

Rockville, MD—The 9000-member Biophysical Society is pleased to announce the 2013 Student Research Achievement Award Winners. One hundred and forty-one Society student members participated in this competitive event held during the Biophysical Society's 57th Annual Meeting on February 3 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Judges from the Society's subgroups selected thirteen winners. The winners were recognized at an awards ceremony on February 4 and received a monetary award. The winners are:

Bioenergetics Khadijeh Alnajjar, Wright State University

Biological Fluorescence Jie-Pan Shen, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, and Anand Singh, National University of Singapore

Biopolymers in vivo Shahar Sukenik, Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Exocytosis & Endocytosis Reuben Friend, University of Sheffield, United Kingdom

Intrinsically Disordered Proteins Kiersten Ruff, Washington University

Membrane Biophysics David Baez-Nieto, CINV, Chile

Membrane Structure and Assembly Stefan Scheidelaar, Utrecht University, The Netherlands

Molecular Biophysics Swati Tyagi, European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Germany

Motility Li Wang, University of Iowa

Nanoscale Biophysics Niccolo Banterle, European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Germany, and

11400 Rockville Pike, Suite 800, Rockville, MD 20852 P: (240) 290-5600 F: (240) 290-5555 E: society@biophysics.org W: www.biophysics.org Ziqing Zhao, Harvard University

Permeation & Transport

Kuang Shen, California Institute of Technology

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry.